These are the OLD pre-August 2013 forums. Please visit the new upgraded forums here!

Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register | HK Website

Citadel BattleMat (2008 Version) Options
GREEN_MACHINE
Posted: Thursday, August 27, 2009 7:41:05 AM

Groups: Member

The Product
: The citidel battle mat is a 4 x 6 cloth backed, static grass gaming mat. It is currently sold in a standard green color. This review is of the 2008 improved version. An earlier version of the battle mat which was sold in a rolled format is reported to have had shedding issues, although I have no experience with that product to confirm it.

Package:  Mat comes folded in a mid sized, plastic windowed box. There are no use & care instructions.

Contents:  The mat uses what appears to be static grass, which is somehow bonded to what I think must be a latex backing and then has a smooth cloth covering sewn over the backing. The result is a 4 x 6 static grass mat which folds and rolls very easily and with no grass shedding to this point. I have measured the mat and it has true dimensions.

The other nice point with this mat, is that because of the backing cloth, it sits very well on a table and will leave no scratches on the good furniture if Mom is worried about you playing on the dining room table. The other advantage to the cloth backing is that it hangs very well over objects, so you could simply place some books under the mat to make a decent hill.

Points of note:

1)
Once the mat has been unfolded there are many creases.  I laid mine out on a flat table and was able to get rid of some. Posters on other forums reccomend rolling the mat tightly over night to get rid of the creases while other note you can lightly iron in. I'm not good with an iron at the best of times so I have opted to try the roll method at this time. I will update this post with the results at a later date.